top of page
  • Writer's picturePerception Staff

11:11

By: Charles Keppler


I made a wish

That the world was mine

How sublime


To rule the lands

To rule the seas

To rule you


I had thought

With you by my side

I’d be complete


You could come

With your dress undone

My fantasies be done


But a cage

Was not meant

To hold an angel incandescent


Your wings

Could not be spread

Nor your soul be fed


Your song

Was left unsung

And it, I ached to hear


I came

I saw

I conquered it all, and yet you


You

You knew better

You could see through my hollow heart


I

Convinced myself

The more I had, the more I’d feel


You

Left

Knowing that hearts only fill from an internal well



 

This poem is a response to response the November 2018 Perceiver's Prompt: "11.


For this month, we’re asking you write, create or produce around the number 11. Eleven. One one. XI. It could be an eleven line poem, eleven focal objects in a piece of art, eleven parts of a bigger story—whatever you want. Get creative! Get funky! Get controversial!"

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page